May 9, 2017

Seven Distinguished IU 21st Century Scholars Elected and Inducted to prestigious Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) Society in 2017


The IU 21st Century Scholars Program within the IU Office of the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs (OVPDEMA) is excited to announce that seven distinguished scholars have been elected and inducted to the Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) Society, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national academic honor society in the United States.

The Gamma of Indiana chapter of Phi Beta Kappa is a distinguished and exclusive society that honors the best and brightest liberal arts students. Both at Indiana University and across the nation, only about one college senior in a hundred is selected for membership. Phi Beta Kappa members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and more than 130 Nobel laureates including Jimmy Carter, Booker T. Washington, and Eleanor Roosevelt. More recent members include Amazon founder Jeff Bezos, national correspondent for The AtlanticTa-Nehisi Coates, and former NFL Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning. Membership to Phi Beta Kappa Society is by invitation only.

Below are the seven distinguished IU 21st Century Scholars inducted for membership to Phi Beta Kappa in 2017:

Taylor A. Allen

David B. Botros

Samantha K. Feistritzer

Mary M. Luncsford

Minal B. Patel

Andrew J. Stark

Anna C. Will

In 2016, the IU 21st Century Scholars Program boasted three distinguished IU 21st Century Scholars to Phi Beta Kappa:

Caitlyn M. Lowe

Andrew P. Sims

Shelly K. Stumpf


This year's total number of seven represents the highest number of scholars receiving membership to Phi Beta Kappa, a double increase from 2016. We congratulate all seven scholars for their commitment to academic excellence and global citizenship at Indiana University Bloomington.